Jackson Hole Writers Conference 2012

Yayah! So much fun to have such a great opportunity close to home (well, just under 150 miles round trip, but we do still have compressed dinosaur blood, so relatively easy to get there and back every day). No Flash Fiction or Flash Poetry contests this year, but volunteers still participate for free, so all is well. All except for my ongoing and useless shyness–go figure! In the Forest, I can walk into almost any camp of strangers and strike up a conversation, cuz it’s my job. So, it is paramount upon my writing efforts to say–it’s my job to connect with strangers who are professionally attached to the writing/publishing communities in order to better my prospects of becoming more professional myself. So that is my primary goal for this year.

While none of the attending agents look to be a great fit, won’t that make pitching to them in the halls alll that much easier? Of course, it is disingenuous to pitch a story that is not ready to go yet. So easier yet will be preying on fellow writers. It has been a useful exercise for me to practice pitching and writing a synopsis just so I can be more clear about where the story needs to get cleaner and more precise. So I’ll be participating with documents in hand as I search for the appropriate writing partner(s). While I have Beta Readers lined up, none of them are writing, and I’d feel better about using people’s time if I could offer mine in return. So that is goal two.

Perhaps upcoming blog posts will be devoted to ice-breaker questions that can help me vet my prospective partners? Uh, no, that’s cheating. Will save those for my pen-and-paper notebook. If you’ll be there this coming weekend–drop me a line and let me know!

About sidney woods

After a couple of practice novels, I'm now engrossed in an effort to create my first YA story, set in the tumultuous year of 1980. The best of YA stories fit my passion for reading that's worth something, so I think about those stories 'out loud' here.

Leave a Reply

