Ambiguous Ending

Oooo–I’ve been toying with the idea of an indeterminate end for my next story, and I just fell into a disturbing example when I finished Tim Tharp’s 2008 novel The Spectacular Now. The technique certainly got my attention, and not just as a writer but first as a reader. It requires re-reading:  the last paragraph, the last page, the last scene. That increases the pressure, I’d say, for a writer to pull something strong into the finale’. How rewarding though, in this case, when Tharp fully succeeds. The re-readings are beautiful, transcendent, still boldly cryptic–which is what keeps the “preach” stunningly at bay. This is a book that will stay on my shelf.

Tags: ,

About sidney woods

After a couple of practice novels, I'm now engrossed in an effort to create my first YA story, set in the tumultuous year of 1980. The best of YA stories fit my passion for reading that's worth something, so I think about those stories 'out loud' here.

Leave a Reply

